1. Here’s a list. 2. Here’s another list

Two things are certain about the New Year for me: (1) it’s a lousy time to make bold resolutions for the year ahead* and (2) the Internet will be awash with amateur futurologists sharing  lists of predictions for the year ahead.

Some lists are better than others. My personal favourite comes from JWT, a perennial over-achiever in the annual prediction stakes. Their list of 100 things to watch in 2011 makes for a fascinating read. My money’s on these hot trends [click image to enlarge]:

Banner Ads Do More

CAPTCHA Advertising

Digital Downtime

Digital Indoor Maps

Group-manipulated pricing

…and, of course, given my former life marketing loo roll:

Tube-free toilet paper

The second list I’d like to share comes from Microsoft Advertising’s own Chris Maples, and documents a dozen key trends that will shape the UK Online Advertising industry. Well worth a flick through; items 5, 6, and 7 are particularly close to my heart.

Now get back to keeping that New Year’s Resolution not to spend all day reading long lists of predictions…

* This year, I resolved not to waste money on things I don’t really need. Then I went shopping.

About Allister Frost

I'm a marketer who helps companies adapt and grow in our digital world. This site is the place where I share my thoughts about marketing, how it's evolving and what great marketers are doing. Let me know what you think.

Posted on January 5, 2011, in Digital Living, Digital Marketing. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on 1. Here’s a list. 2. Here’s another list.

Comments are closed.